Courgetti Spaghetti

After over indulging on holiday, I have been trying to be healthier over the past few weeks and it has been made extremely easy with this super healthy, super tasty recipe. I first heard about courgetti spaghetti on Saturday Kitchen when Hemsley and Hemsley were on the show. For those of you who haven’t heard about these health savvy sisters, they have recently brought out their own cook book filled with healthy and nutritious recipes, courgetti spaghetti being one of them. Courgetti is raw courgette peeled into long thin strips as a replacement for pasta or noodles. Not only are you saving yourself lots of calories, it tastes great so you won’t be missing that carby pasta anytime soon.

I bought myself this Stainless Steel Julienne Peeler from Lakeland which is conveniently on offer at the moment, so I grabbed myself two – one for at home and another to take back to uni.

Julienne Peeler from Lakeland

Julienne Peeler from Lakeland

Simply peel yourself around 2/3 courgettes (depending on the size and how hungry you are) and I should also mention that you need to be careful as the peeler is pretty sharp and can cause a nasty cut (which I was unfortunate enough to get whilst slicing away). You can add any sauce on your courgetti from beef chilli, tomato and basil, pesto and even some Quorn mince if you are a vegetarian or want to cut out some of the fat found in regular mince. I chose to have a Waitrose Essentials Tomato and Basil sauce then added some mushrooms and peppers to add some extra crunch.

Courgetti Spaghetti

Courgetti Spaghetti

Once you have heated up your sauce, stir in the raw courgette and your dinner is ready to eat! Here’s a picture of my courgetti spaghetti I made the other night…

Healthy Courgetti Spaghetti with Tomato and Basil Sauce

Healthy Courgetti Spaghetti with Tomato and Basil Sauce

Remember to follow me on Twitter: @Joanna_Bowden and Instagram: @joanna.bowden

Leave a Reply

